Monday, April 23, 2007

The बेअट्लेस - Alternate Revolver - 1966-67

My favorite Beatles endeaver, with different harmonies,loops, reels & sound effects.
23 alternate takes from the studio tapes...
(most not from the Anthology)
Great fun for the Beatles fan to hear.

(By the way, I made this cover)

01. Taxman
02. Eleanor Rigby
03. I'm Only Sleeping
04. Love You Too
05. Here, There & Everywhere
06. Yellow Submarine
07. She Said, She Said
08. Good Day Sunshine
09. And Your Bird Can Sing
10. For No One
11. Doctor Robert
12. I Want To Tell You
13. Got To Get You Into My Life
14. Tomorrow Never Knows
15. And Your Bird Can Sing II
16. I'm Only Sleeping II
17. Eleanor Rigby (instrumental)
18. For No One II
19. She Said (figure it out)
20. Taxman Again
21. Tomorrow Never Knows (different version)
22. I'm Only Sleeping (xylophone)
23. Got To Get You Into My Life II;
(bonus) Here There & Everywhere (harmonies)

Buckingham Nicks - 1973


The song 'Frozen Love' always takes me back to a much more innocent time in my life... With all the orchestral colorizations, it is one of my all time favorites. I can still remember hearing it on the airwaves in the last days of Underground FM Radio, which ended for me in 1974...

It still baffles me that this is not available to the general public.
The first ten tracks are excellent and make up the original release, which in itself make this an essential collection.

While eleven other tracks are included, making this the 'Deluxe Edition' I suppose; they are substandard and are only worthwhile to that eccentric fan who must have everything.
(I am one)

Here's the list:

01. Crying In The Night
02. Stephanie
03. Without A Leg To Stand On
04. Crystal
05. Long Distance Winner
06. Don't Let Me Down Again
07. Django
08. Races Are Run
09. Lola (My Love)
10. Frozen Love

11. Bwana
12. Trouble
13. Mary Lee Jones
14. I'll Tell You Now
15. It Was I
16. Shadow Of The West
17. That's How We Do It In LA
18. Johnny Stew
19. Love From Here, Love From There
20. Magnet & Steel
21. Just The Waiting

Friday, April 13, 2007

TRACTOR - 1972


01. All Ends Up
02. Little Girl In Yellow
03. Watcher
04. Ravenscroft's 13 bar Boogie
05. Shubunkin
06. Hope In Favour
07. Everytime It Happens
08. Make (Take) The Journey (The Trip)


09. Siderial
10. No More Lies (with Nik Turner)*
11. Mr. Revolution Man
12. Everytime It Happens
13. The Storm
14. The Watcher

The second effort from this UK duo:

Jim Milne - vocals, guitar, bass
Steve Clayton - drums, percussion, backing vocals

* Nik Turner (saxophone) of HAWKWIND fame joins them
on track 10 along with Tom Hewitt in the studio (2001)

The original LP which ends at track #8 and which I owned at the time, is a fine example of 70's Psyche...
The genre of music which "should never have existed"
falling between the cracks of
60s Psych and 70s Progressive.
This edition has 6 BONUS tracks,
not 3 as indicated on the cover.

Paul Cross Review

Progger Archives